2015.

It’s time to revitalize Bread is for Everyone. New year, new resolution?

I’m a sucker for new year resolutions. In fact, 2014 is probably the first year that I’ve really stuck to some. Some goals I met, others I faltered. I wanted to read 30 new books this year. I maybe read 5. For the first time, I set athletic goals. I learned how to ski last January (and loved it) and raced in my first triathlon in August. I also hiked up my first 14-er (14,000 ft elev. mountain) and a handful of 13-ers (13,000 ft. elev. mountain), although I had a goal of hiking up 5.

2014 was also the year I applied and was accepted to the Peace Corp and grad school. These proved to be the most transformative changes in the past year for me. I was directionless in 2012 and 2013. I wanted so badly for that ‘next step’ to fall into my lap. By this time in 2013, I figured out that my next step wasn’t going to happen unless, 1) I made a decision about what I wanted, and 2) Did it. By this time last year, I made my decision. I wanted a degree in administration and international development. I wanted to go into the Peace Corp. Now in the first few days of 2015, I have my first trimester of grad school completed and i’m set to leave for the Peace Corp in the spring of 2016. Life no longer happens all at once, but flows slow and steady.

I think I can accurately define myself as a ‘flexible goal setter’. One of my resolutions this year will be to blog at least once a week. Focus my blogs on topics that I’m actively researching or short commentary on current events. When I do get the chance to travel, I’ll write about it here. Though I imagine most of my trips will be to different national parks around the American West.

Bring it 2015.

Leave a Reply

